A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world.

Nowadays, lots of countries consider tourism as a main source of income; however, it can also bring a lot of problems if it is not managed in a correct way. In the modern world, the traveller trade would certainly contribute to the economy of the country and lead to an increase in the number of job opportunities, but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit is that tourism is inclined to result in economic growth. In other words, visitors tend to spend large amounts of money on accommodation, transportation, food, and souvenirs. As a result of this, a considerable number of the developing countries’ success is attributed to tourism. Another advantage worth noting is that job opportunities increase as more sightseers visit local areas. Obviously, increased demand from travellers boosts local businesses and people who live in those areas benefit from employment opportunities in its turn. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having the visitor trade. First of all, historical buildings can be damaged by large numbers of visitors. Apparently, the infrastructures of old buildings are not strong enough and can easily be damaged by tourists’ reckless behaviours while visiting these places. The second factor to take into consideration is that most of the supplies in local regions are exhausted by visiting travellers. That is to say, visitors do not think about the problems they cause and consume terribly without considering inhabitants. To illustrate, one sightseer uses as much wood in a day as five local families in Khumbu. To sum up, while there are significant plus points such as economic growth, there are also some drawbacks to having the tourist trade. I would therefore recommend that people should reduce the detrimental effects and try to enhance the positives.