Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

To curb the rapid surge in traffic and pollution issues, the government has been increasing the cost of petrol periodically. In my opinion, this can be one of the best approaches by the centre. In this essay, I will also discuss some more efficient methods for this ever-growing issue. To start with, Due to rapid automotive industrialization around the globe demand for petrol increased around many cities. Moreover, People were able to afford cars as they were cheaper and more fuel-efficient. This eventually increased air pollution majorly for metro cities where urban prefered cars for their daily commute. The decision by centre to raise the price of petrol which eventually discourages people on using cars and slowly they opt for public transport is excellent. For example, Prices of petrol and diesel in the capital city is higher compared to other cities, people have already started using subways and buses which has reduced the traffic over the city considerably. On other hand, Government can also provide subsidies to companies that are investing in technology that can be an alternative to combustible engines like electrical cars. To exemplify, the indian government provide tax rebates for auto manufactures that are developing cars running on electric batteries and this prompts such industries to focus more on alternate technology that won't be relying on fossil fuel like petrol and diesel. To conclude, with effective implementation of government policies and more research on alternate energy, countries can reduce air pollution and traffic issue.