Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people enjoy reading more than watching televation because they think that reading gives them lots of room to imagine, whereas watching films does not provide the same. I strongly agree with this view because we are left to ourselves to visualise while reading which is unlike television from which we can see and hear. Watching on screen gives us very little space to use our imagination. From the televasion, we are able to view the settings as well as able to hear the sound effects. The only thing we can imagine while watching our favourite TV series is the storyline. For example, when we are watching a movie, we do not need to figure out how the actors and the actresses look and where the events take place. They are all set in a way the director wants or as per the story. The audience is supposed to guess only the story line and I believe that is what keeps us watching. Reading, on the contrary, is designed to let readers visualise everything written in the books, from the characters to the story line. Authors usually give a very detailed description of every item that plays a part in the story, and this allows us to build the characters and the settings all in our mind. I recently read a book in medical thriller genre for the very first time. The book is titled "The Surgeon" and it is written by Tess Gerritson. Being a doctor herself, she gave such an exceedingly thorough description about every little item and every event in the book that I felt like I was watching a movie rather than reading a book. It kept me engrossed and it was such a page turner that I finished reading it in just two days. To conclude, multimedia such as television, as the name implies, includes more than just texts and it is designed to entertain us with visuals. The very little thing we can figure out is just the storyline itself. On the other hand, reading makes us use our imagination to the fullest extent. Therefore, I agree that reading engages our mind actively much more than watching television does.