In many large cities, people waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion- one the roads. What are the causes of this? What solution can you suggest?

Nowadays, due to urbanization, most of the world's population concentrates on big cities. One of the crucial problems of living in these overpopulated areas may be transportation. Every day, a considerable portion of residents' precious time is wasted on traffic jams. There are various possible reasons for this, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle these problems. I believe two major factors are to blame for the traffic issues in urban areas. At first, from an urban planning perspective, In some cities, roads are not engineered based on the population of that city. Consequently, in some town districts, traffic congestion happens due to demand-supply imbalance in the transportation network. For example, in Tehran, most commercial places such as Grand Bazar are placed in traditional context areas, so the number of vehicles exceeds the capacity of streets constructed about 50 years ago. Secondly, people mostly prefer to use personal cars rather than public transportation. Indisputably, using a private vehicle could be more convenient and bring us privacy, and individuals prefer to use their vehicle for daily transportation. Several policies can be implemented to reduce traffic congestion and bring back valuable time to residents. At the first step, governments should consider road construction more academically. There are several academic majors that authorities can take advantage of, such as civil engineering. Secondly, if governments promote public transport infrastructure and make these facilities more comfortable and reachable, people might start using them more than before. For instance, In Berlin, about 2 million passengers use the town subway to go to their work because of these modern transit systems' high speed and punctuality. In conclusion, one of the significant concerns of urbanization may be traffic congestion. This essay discussed how modern road systems, network construction, and high-quality public transportation could prevent people from wasting valuable time.