Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Whether or not the study choices at university have been a subject of heated discussion. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain my personal point of view about students’ decisions on subjects in university. People who agree that students should only be allowed to study a major that will be useful in the future have valid reasons to say so. To begin with, they may assert that university courses like medicine,engineering and technology are more likely to be beneficial than certain art degrees. From my perspective, learners who major in those subjects have a window of opportunities to get an ideal job after graduating. Besides, it can be argued that these courses prepare the most essential knowledge for future occupations. Therefore, it provides career progression, higher salary and an improved living standard. Finally, a focus on science could lead to new inventions, economic growth and greater future prosperity. In spite of this argument, I reckon that university students should be free to choose the research areas of study that they are appealing to. The world develops day by day so that no one can predict which area of knowledge will be the most useful to society in the future. Perhaps, those majors that seem unpopular to people will become necessary jobs to meet human needs in the future like psychology,philosophy,art… Last but not least, they can boost and enhance their strength while studying the major in which they found their passion. In conclusion, although it seems sensible for the university to focus only on the handiest subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.