Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, more investment is done to develop mass transit than building new roads. It is obvious that the government is trying to improve the quality of life and save our planet. Therefore, a number of major causes and effects will be addressed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, two main reasons are causing the issue of investing more in public transport rather than in building new roads. First of all, it lessens air pollution by reducing carbon footprint. It is well-known that regardless of the type of fuel that a mass transit system uses; riding the bus or taking a train helps to lower air pollution effectively. Furthermore, urban transportation service reduces congestion. Increased use of public transportation eases traffic jams; as a result, it opens chances to be moved more comfortably and to be on time. Since then, several advantages and drawbacks could be taken into consideration. First and foremost, public transport is safer than cars. Studies have shown that people can lessen the chance of being in a vehicle-related accident by more than 90% by taking it as opposed to commuting by car. In addition, it conserves energy effectively, for those who use buses or trains instead of driving the primary vehicle, can save individuals a significant amount of money each month in avoiding gas, maintenance, parking, and other expenses. However, it runs on a set schedule. This can result in a serious loss of time for travellers who must arrive at their destination early to avoid being late. Moreover, there is no privacy in urban transportation services as passengers are crowded and do not have much personal space. In conclusion, although the use of buses or trains has several limitations, its benefits outweigh disadvantages. Therefore, mass transit plays a prominent role in finding workable solutions to the challenges facing the world today. Increased investment in urban transport is an investment in our planet.