Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

These days, local residents seem to be uninterested in visiting museums and historical sites, so the majority of guests visiting these places are foreign visitors. This trend can be ascribed to several reasons, and some measures can be implemented to make historical places become more appealing to locals. The reasons why museums and destinations with historical values are mostly visited by tourists instead of local people are varied. In terms of local residents, they may consider museums and historical sites boring and irrelevant to the present, so paying a visit to these places may be thought to be time-consuming. In fact, locals used to be taught or shown pictures of historic artefacts displayed in museums when they were secondary or high school students. In contrast, overseas visitors seem to be more curious than locals about an exotic culture or historical events. Therefore, with tourists from other countries, museums and historical sites would probably be must-visit places which enable them to explore a long-standing history and gain fascinating insights into new cultures. In order to attract more local people to visit sites with historical values, there are some feasible solutions that can be taken into account. First of all, detailed explanations should be provided by specialized curators or through audio guides. In fact, just wandering around a museum and seeing some historic relics are dull and uninteresting, but when people are told about some mysteries or the stories behind each artefact, their curiosity can be immediately provoked. Besides, schools should coordinate with these places to organize some field trips for young students to have a chance to see the historical remains in person. Furthermore, to make it more attractive, some interactive activities such as performing a play or dressing up like soldiers can catch local people ’s attention. In conclusion, museums and historical places are mainly visited by foreigners because of their curiosity and interest in exploring new things which local people may lack. In addition, some measures such as providing demonstrations, field trips and interesting activities to make a visit to these places more fun and useful.