Around the world, only a few languages are increasing in use, the use of many other languages is declining. It is a positive or negative development?

Language assimilation, referring to the phenomenon that a minority language gives way to a dominant language in a specific region, has become a ubiquitous trend in these decades. Personally, I think this is essentially desirable in terms of human’s development. Admittedly, a cascade of drawbacks would be ascribed to the change, regardless of how it fits the headway. It is pronounced that firstly the extinction of a language loaded the local culture would dramatically affect the preservation of the intrinsic worth of culture. In light of this fact, it appears to have obstacles in maintaining and inheriting the ethnic identity of this culture. Secondly, the native speakers of minority languages have to learn a brand-new language, being compelled to be bilinguals, which may not be fair to everybody of them, especially for the old generations who are dearth in learning and obtaining new things. In spite of this, language assimilation has more merits than drawbacks. Providing that the barrier of language is eliminated, a person would be prone to fully integrate into a new society and blend into a new culture. Furthermore, ethnic harmony would therefore be enhanced. It can be envisaged that if there is no barrier in accent and the cultures can be mutually comprehended, the international business and political negotiation would be more efficacious and smoother. Simultaneously, the strife between two countries stemming from defending their own ability might be prone to address since the cultures are understandable for both countries. To sum up, despite some adverse repercussions like poorly conservation the multiculturism and fitting issue with respect to the speakers of minority languages, I believe language assimilation could eliminate some disputes derived from the misunderstanding of cultures and therefore a great number of international affairs could be tackled with more smoothly.