Today children spend a lot of time playing computer games and less time on sports. Why is this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

The hours children playing physically has reduced quite a lot recently and spending on indoors has raised.Lack of outdoor facilities and easy accessibilities to mobile phones are the reasons behind this and it can not consider as a good development. One of the main reasons that make children have less time in sports is that the unavailability of safe and comfortable playgrounds.That means,due to urbanisation and modernization most of the open spaces were utilised for construction and the only available lands are not safe for children because of the increased crime rate and heavy traffic. Therefore parents encourage their offsprings to stay inside the home and children mostly prefer to play computer games. Furthermore,mobile phones and computers are very common these days and both parents are working. As a result,parents could not get sufficient time to spend for children and probably, they will be turned to games on the screens. For example,my daughter plays on the computer for more than 6 hours a day as me and my husband is working. The practice of spending more free time on computers is detrimental for children. Firstly,when there is less physical activity,the growth and development of a child will be impaired and there will be health consequences.To explain further,for growth of the skeletal system and development of the motor skills child should be physically active. In addition,sedentary life causes obesity that leads to other healths issues. Secondly,spending more time on video games,makes children socially inactive. In other words,while playing on screens,chances to meet and interact with others are less thereby less communication and social skills. This would negatively affect their future where these skills are essential to be a successful adult. To conclude,the increasing trend of children spending their time on virtual games is a negative development because it compromises their social skills and health.