Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

The world population is increasing, leading to the demand for housing in the era of ongoing globalization. Numerous people suggest that public parks downtown should be converted to business or residential areas to meet the growing need for land. I completely disagree with this standpoint. Green spaces in cities play a vital role in maintaining people’s health. To begin with, trees and other plants in urban gardens can absorb carbon dioxide and other chemicals and this helps to provide better air quality for city dwellers. Therefore, this improvement can be crucial for those who are suffering from breathing disorders because of air pollution. Additionally, the playground is a good place for the community to exercise and stay fit. For instance, regular exercise helps people build a stronger body, boost their immune system, and thus protect them from catching diseases. Moreover, gardens areas can make municipalities more visually appealing. If our downtown were only filled with skyscrapers, residential housing and business districts, our lives would be tedious; whereas the trees and flowers can make our lives more colourful and bring the community closer to nature. Finally, I would argue that building accommodation and business centres in the parks is not a satisfactory option. In my opinion, the better solution is that the government should start building more industrial parks, residential land in the outskirts instead of already crowded downtown areas. This would not merely provide more employment opportunities in suburbs and boost economic growth but also relieve the air pollution and traffic problems in cities. In conclusion, I passionately believe that public parks in the cities should be reserved as it is beneficial to both citizens and the civic landscape. Hopefully, the authorities will pay more attention and raise people's awareness in terms of the value that parks bring.