It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the number of elderly people will be larger compared to the number of young men and women in many regions ultimately. I believe that the trend will bring troubles because old people can not contribute to the society as much as when they were young and it will create a huge strain on medical services. As the older generation grows larger than the younger population, many elderly people contribute less. Many will choose to retire after spending a great part of their life working, thus less value will be created due to this reason. Moreover, even fewer products might be created for the reason that older generation becomes less creativity due to a poor health condition associated with aging. For example, many European countries are facing the decline in resource of employment, so many people in other countries like south-east Asia go there as economic migrants. With a growing number of older citizens, countries might have to face an overload on medical services. Due to old age, old people need to go for health check and get treatments regularly. Thus more health facilities and resources need to be reserved for these people, while these investment can be spent in others domains like technology or science that might bring more benefits in a long run. For instances, Japan is a country with the highest number of elderly people in the world, and such condition require over 30 percent of employees in entire coutries. If the situation continues, some believe that the countries will come to zero population in the next 50 years. In conclusion, the growing number of older people is harmful to the society financially and it also has a detrimental impact to the infrustructure of medical system.