You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Group or team activities can teach more important skills for life than those activities which are done alone. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Doing activities in groups or teams is crucial in developing essential life skills which, in turn, helps a person contribute to society. In my opinion, I agree that team activities help in the overall development of people. However, self independence is an equally important quality to develop. Firstly, participating in group activities can help build communication skills. Nowadays, with the advancements in technology, young people tend to remain glued to their gadgets depriving them of the basic communication skills required to succeed in any work environment. Secondly, being a part of a team helps individuals become more patient and accommodating towards different ideas and concerns. For example, when I used to go for dance classes, we had a session where each person would offer their advice on how to improve the dance piece we were working on. This made me more patient and allowed me to be understanding of others. In addition to working in a group, working alone is needed to develop self independence. For instance, in school, we were given an activity to do a puppet show which was mostly done in groups. Instead of forming a group, I decided to do the activity on my own. This helped me become more self independent. In conclusion, being part of a team always helps us build skills because we are working with people having varied personalities and hence, we get to learn something new each time we interact with them which otherwise would not have happened if we worked alone.