Question: In order to alive traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportlong. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In present day scenario, where we see huge traffic jams and heavy pollution on the roads. Government should look at an option of taxing individual car owners highly and using that funds in improving public transport. In the below paragraph we discuss pros and cons of this solution. Firstly, I believe this law will be play an important role in reducing the number of vehicles on road, which can help in bringing down the pollution levels. In some countries, this also leads to huge noise pollution, specially during peak hours adding pressure to human lives. Moreover these individual vehicles are used by rich, who have money and are looking at a option of spending them. These individual owners are not worried about welfare of society. I had myself seen my friend and his wife, driving to same office in individual vehicles, while they can go in one car or use public transport. Mostly individual vehicle s are used by people who want to do showoff. On the other and, since vehicle owners are already paying enough taxes. They should not be further troubled. It is the choice of individual to be on his own, which should be respected. When a person drives their own vehicle, they save lot of time, which can be used in other activities. My friend who drives to office, is able to travel in thirty minutes, where as public transport takes nintu minutes to same route. Since driving is relaxing and reduceses stress, it should be encouraged or left in current condition. Taxing further to individual vehicle owners will be inhuman, specially place like Sydney, where vehicle owners pay nearly three thousand dollars for vehicle registration, tax and insurance. To conclude, I opine, with regular increase in fuel prices and other vehicle related expenses like road tax, registration cost and maintenance cost. Vehicle taxes should not be further increased. Whereas to reduce the traffic and pollution, government can look at reducing movement of vehicles by provide other subsidies. Traffic officers can increase fees for offenses than increase taxes. Overall authorities should have some limitations and have a balanced approach.