In spite of the many advances women have made in education and employment, they continue to be at a disadvantage when it comes to pay and promotion. In your view, what should be done to promote equality of opportunity for men and women in the workplace? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Despite many advancements in different sectors nowadays involving contributions from women, certain countries still treat them unfairly in terms of job opportunities and salary payment. In my opinion, gender equality in workplaces can be achieved by setting up similar requirements regardless of gender and making punishments for gender discrimination. First of all, companies should ensure that during job interviews, similar judgement and evaluation should be applied to both genders. Certain companies assumed that married women, especially those with children are unable to put full effort into their careers because they are easily distracted by family matters. Therefore, during recruitments of new staff, higher positions such as administrative posts are often offered to men only. Besides, during interviews for promotions, many women face lesser chances if they are married or planning to have a family but not men. In order to avoid such discrimination, companies should remove gender preference during interviews and ensure female interviewer is included. Another way to ensure women are not treated indifferently at work is by providing punishment for gender discrimination. In terms of punishment, the government plays the most essential role in implementing strict rules for women abuse. In certain countries such as Indian and South Korea, females still struggle to find themselves a proper and safe workplace, as their government did not make clear rules to protect them. As such, employers that abuse female workers either physically or mentally or both should be put behind bars, and if indicated, permanently. In conclusion, although most civilised nations today make their effort to defend gender equality, many women all around the world still facing discrimination and abuse, which need our attention. Thus, all governments should raise awareness in their nation and to their people, to preserve equal rights for all people regardless of gender.