Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is irrefutable that the usage of computers and the internet has brought many changes in every field of life at the domestic as well as commercial level. This essay will discuss that this transformation has definitely provided more advantages than drawbacks because it has reduced workload and introduced venues of income in the forms of entertainment. There are a number of reasons why individuals hold the view that information technology has dominated our lives in negative ways. First and foremost, people have adopted a lazy lifestyle due to this facility because of which they are suffering from various issues like obesity and hypertension. The reason for this is that many activities which were required to do manually are now performed by computers, for instance, shop keepers and customers use calculators for calculations at basic levels in supermarkets and stores. The other thing is that individuals lost their social connections with friends and families. They spend most of their free time watching television and using social media applications like Facebook and Instagram. Thus, the usage of digital technology has introduced harmful changes in our lives. However, there is no doubt that the number of advantages is far more than the drawbacks. One of the biggest positive impacts of using the internet is that it has reduced stress. For example, at home, people are doing online shopping for their favourite brands from all over the world. They do not need to go shopping in the malls. In addition, companies and employees are also saving by getting the benefits from doing work from home. For example, now corporate houses do not need to pay transport allowances to their workers. Another potential benefit is that users of social media are earning in their free time by making videos for their own youtube channels along with writing blogs. Therefore, it can be seen that involving the digital world in our lives has undoubtedly opened new horizons for its users. In conclusion, changing things from manual to digital has changed a lot at various levels. This essay has discussed that the positives of this new era of technology outweigh the negatives because of not only decreasing spendings for offices but also providing income by just sitting at home.