Some people believe that teenager should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can be benefit teenagers and the community as well . To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a popular belief that high school students shall do community work to make the world a better place to live. Some people think that such activity is a reward itself and hence it shall not be paid. In this essay I will examine whether teenagers’ labour is to be paid if it is done for the public good. On the one hand, community work could be a great experience before teenagers get their first job. Good recommendations will show future employers that a young person is responsible and able to handle different tasks. There is no guarantee that a particular boy or girl is a good worker because of their young age but the time they spent for the benefit of the society is valuable itself. So, it is logical that this work is done for free. On the other hand, I believe that unpaid labour is harmful cause everybody deserves to get consideration for their efforts. People always feel unsatisfied when they do something and get nothing in return. Every employee even if he or she is very young is entitled to a salary. After all, all of us are taxpayers and this money can be put in the hand of teenagers trying hard for commonwealth. Consequently, free work shall be limited even if it is presumed that it is for the right things. In conclusion, teenagers’ community work must be strictly regulated. The government shall compensate it with money or, at least, with the opportunity to gain an advantage in admission to higher education institutions.