Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that environmental issues are an omnipresent phenomenon in the entire world. Who is accountable for tackling climate changes has become a matter of discussion for many. Some people argue that the responsibility for solving them should lie with governments, whereas others disagree. In this essay I shall examine both points of view and outline potential solutions.  To commence with, it is believed that the personal sacrifice of citizens cannot be the solution to address the ecological crisis. For example, a tremendous amount of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases, which cause global warming, are released into the atmosphere in the process of burning coal and other fossil fuels which are still significant sources of energy in many countries. Renewable sources are the solution to this problem but these are governments, who finance the construction of wind farms or solar panels. Thus, it is seen, that individual citizens cannot help in this manner. Conversely, each of us can or even should contribute to the fight against climate change. In particular, it is essential for societies to reduce waste production and segregate rubbish. Dumping grounds and litter in oceans and seas are caused mostly by individuals, so we should take steps to change it. Additionally, citizens should make adamant demands on politicians for more urgent actions to address climate changes. It can be done, by choosing ecological parties during elections or writing petitions. As we can see, individuals can also take some steps to deal with environmental issues. In conclusion, climate change is an urgent problem that demands collective efforts both from governments and societies. In my opinion, the biggest responsibility lies with the authorities however, everyone as an individual can also take action to safeguard Mother Earth for future generations.