Cam 14 - Test 4 Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent times, this is increasingly common that many individuals prefer to establish their own businesses in comparison to working for any firm. This is because of social media and technological advancement. Some of the major pitfalls of self-employment is not having financial support, self-motivation and lack of vision and marketing strategies. With the advancement of technology, it is closely observed that many small scale industries have been established. Now, people are no longer required to be dependent on stressful jobs for their survival. In fact, social media has made it possible to promote their product and services from anywhere to everywhere across the globe. For example, selling hair oil and providing nanny services are possible with this modern technology and successfully able to expand their business across the nations. Therefore, with the help of Facebook and Instagram, people are successfully able to grow and expand their businesses. On the other hand, the major pitfall of having self-employment is that it requires self-discipline and financial support because many times starter companies get crashed very easily. They should have enough funds to recover their losses and rebuild themselves with full motivation and enthusiasm. In addition to that, individuals need to be self-motivated with innovative ideas so that their businesses should be sustained in the market competition. For example, Amazon had started its business with a single product but later it expanded across the globe. Therefore, self-employment requires a huge effort of self-dedication. To conclude, social media has made it possible for many individuals to start their own businesses and give them relief from a stressful jobs. Although, people face challenges in self-employed businesses they are growing fast.