Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbles and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this Information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few recruiters tend to ask information seeking the personal details of the counter party such as their interests and hobbies. It is often argued that asking for personal details are irrelevant since it is not related to the work profile. This essay will further throw some light on the reasons for seeking personal details from an employee is of utmost importance to the job profile. Primarily, While job interviews are assumed to be only focused on the professional and the technique knowledge of a candidate additional questions regarding the candidate ’s background, their family, candidate ’s interest and pass-time hobbies enables the employer to understand the characteristic of a candidate and accordingly to select the right candidate for the right job. As per the study conducted by Economic Times it shows 48% of candidates who are involved in some kind of sports has qualities such as quick decision making, are team player, has good analytical skills, can work under pressure etc. Whereas if the employer is only concentrating on the professional attributes of an employee it will be challenging for the employer to understand how the employee will handle the situation or how he/she will adapt and behave in a particular work environment. Personal information helps in understanding an individual’s personality and helps in landing the right job. For an instance, if an individual basis his/her personality is an introvert so a job related to customer interaction and building customer relation will not be a correct fit. In the similar way if a candidate who is pro-active and is a socializer will not be best suited for a data-entry job. To conclude, Personal details regarding a candidate helps the recruiter in understanding the characteristic and hence accordingly categorizing the candidate basis their personal and professional information in the role that will be a better fit for both employee as well as employer.