Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Holding global sports events has been a highly controversial topic in the past few years. While some reckon that these events can exert detrimental influence on the hosting nation, I still hold a belief that these international occasions might offer a huge opportunity for the home country to promote national identity and boost the local tourism industry. On the one hand, it is true that there remain a variety of drawbacks when becoming a host in a worldwide sport competition. Apparently, organizing these large-scale events requires an enormous amount of public spending since the hosting country has a tendency to upgrade infrastructure, which might give rise to financial deficits later on. By that way, other key aspects including education and medicine might not be financially supported. It is significant to not hold international sport events due to public health. For example, the Olympic 2021 occurred in Japan. The government had to deal with the opposition from citizens about canceling this competition because of the spreading of the Covid-19 pandemic. Therefore, it goes without saying that the home nation being the organizer will clearly suffer from several disadvantages. On the other hand, I believe that these aforementioned drawbacks are offset by advantages brought about by international events. Economically, a large number of spectators attending football matches could lead to an increase in the demand for services and accommodation, thus generating a fruitful amount of money for that country. Hence, it is possible to control this opportunity to uplift the tourism industry, or develop the economy as a whole. Therefore, it can be said that leading an international sports event can be a once in a lifetime chance for the nation’s prosperity. In conclusion, it seems to me that hosting a sports event with global stature can be an opportunity to propagate national image and boost the domestic economy. However, it is undeniable for these events to exist drawbacks for the nation, such as wasting time, money, and human resources.