In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

With the advancement of technology, death rate is decreasing and more people are staying healthy even in older age hence increased old people in society. Some believe that it has positive impact while others are saying opposite to it. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and explain why it has more advantages than disadvatages. First major benefit of having the older person at home is the responsibility. While youngsters are out for their work, grandparents at home would be able to look after the children. Working generation can work without bothering about their kids and their activity classes. For example, nowadays kids have to attend multiple classes like zumba, swimming other than school. Grandparents can help them with pick-up and drop-off facility in the absence of their parents. Another reason is that they provide the security at home and this keeps robbers away by knowing that someone is at home. Hence presence of aged people provide a great benefit to the society. On the other hand, elder people are putting pressure for their elderly care specially when they fall sick and their son or daughter is working overseas. For example, father of my best friend is living alone in his house because his son is working abroad. Although he is sending sufficient funds for his survival but he need to hire a nurse which is not easily available everytime. Rising population of this generation is also resulting into less working people and more retired generation. Because employers have openings for fresh mind rather than old people. In conclusion, Although there are some negative points of having growing population of old people like eldery elder care and less number of working population. Having grandparents at home help in many ways like child care and home safety. Therefore advantages outweigh than the disadvantages of aged people in the society.