Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is proposed that food science and cookery should be included in schools’ curriculum, while others argue that students should concentrate on other relevant subjects. From my point of view, although these two subjects are crucial for life, they should not be added to high schools’ courses. Learning about nourishment in middle childhood is enough. On the one hand, it is necessary to teach children food science and how to cook. This is because knowing about nutrition and what are they eating can develop health awareness, as a result, the number of young people with obesity and malnutrition decreases. Additionally, cooking skill is one of the important skills to survive. For example, when teenagers move to live apart from their families, they should be able to cook a nutritious meal for themselves. On the other hand, other courses in particular mathematics, physics, biology and foreign languages are far more essential for their future careers. Most learners aim at continuing the higher level of education in universities or vocational schools, therefore food science and cookery are irrelevant to them. This is evident when a student who wants to become an architect probably does not need to know about these subjects for his or her future career. Hence spending time on food science and how to cook to a significant extent deviates students from their goals for higher education. From my perspective, a middle-aged child should learn these courses to gain more understanding about their meals. Nevertheless, older students should have more time to focus on their future. In conclusion, it is true that the science of cooking is a necessity. However, I believe that it is a waste of time if it is taught at an inappropriate time.