In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Due to the current ever-growing of the world’s economy and expansion of startups, advertising becomes an indispensable part of every business. As a matter of fact, advertising not only acts as a key role to promote the latest products to customers but also certainly decides whether companies are bankrupt. Overall, in order to be profitable, product emphasis is frequently used to stimulate purchasing power. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can lead to fabricated advertisements, substandard product quality, customers’ trust loss and various problems later on. Regarding untruthful advertisements, it is absolutely unacceptable that these types of which are still available up to the present time. The false advertising of one product is wrong on the morality side. A product with no special function or substantial upgrade but with flashy advertisements to attract people and they are willing to possess it, after all, this is called morally wrong. Apple’s recent mobile versions are prime examples, iPhone 12 and iPhone 13 have numerous similarities or minimal improvements such as bigger screen resolution, extra cameras, the same battery capacity but vendors sell them at an overpriced cost. In terms of low product quality, this is a regular issue currently happening in most advertisements. Nowadays, the majority of companies tend to introduce their new products as soon as possible regardless of their products’ standard and this trend is evident irresponsibility. It is a thoughtless action because the golden rule of business is the “Put customers first ” rule. If one company only pays attention to competing with the rival company by emphasizing its products in advertisements but do not take good care of their quality then a large number of customers definitely stop supporting them. For instance, the founder of BKAV, a technology corporation located in Vietnam, made an announcement that his latest phone product would be presented in front of the public in July 2021. However, in such a short term, he and his team could not deliver a fully striking product and received lots of criticisms from audiences. Instead of delaying the date to improve his proud product, he continued to keep his promise and the worst outcome came as a matter of course. In conclusion, although it has changed a lot since the consumer protection act has been authorized. However, it also has brought too many problems for this to be considered a positive development.