Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs such as heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to buy drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and use of hard drugs should be applied to all drugs, including tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Most of the interim regimes has implemented legislative terms to prohibit the use of highly harmful drugs. However, licensed dealers are authorized to supply cigarettes and hard liquor in public. Despite the above actions from bureaucrats, there is a growing concern to eradicate the use of soft and hard alcohol. First of all prohibiting beverages and cigars can create detrimental effects on the financial stability of a country. The direct tax imposed on tobacco and liquor is a major source of income for any economy around the world.Banning of the above substance may threaten the cash inflows and create liquidity issues in its fiscal policy. To elaborate further, Sri Lanka relies on tax income from the alcoholic industry to run its operational costs such as salaries for staff. Furthermore, alcohol is a supplementary industry, which supports other major streams like entertainment and hotel segments. Prohibiting booze will significantly impact other interconnected businesses. To exemplify, hotels in UAE are famous for their signature cocktails which use rum and whiskey and tourists particularly visit to experience the taste. Removing alcohol from the public has created a loss in the overall hotel business. On the flip side, declaring the above addictive material as illegal may cause greater benefit to the wider society.Each year many innocent lives have been spared as a result of overuse of alcohol. Therefore, the above action may save potential human losses. For example, hit and drive cases are high in the vicinity where bars are situated.The shutdown of bars may remove chances of fatal incidents. Additionally, the increasing availability of addictive beverages plays a pivotal role in the surge of Socially unacceptable malpractice such as sexual harassment and child abuse. To illustrate further, a recent survey reports that most accused criminals in rape cases are chain smokers. Hence, I believe imposing strict guidelines on banning booze and smoking is vital to maintain general well being. In conclusion, alcohol and cigarettes are useful to a nation based on the excise revenue it generates and the support provided for the service industry. However, the adverse consequence is far worse than the benefits.Many people have been a victim of crimes and accidents caused by hangovers and overuse of addictive substances.