Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, a social issue related to who need to take the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Some argue that individuals should responsible for their own health. I disagree with this viewpoint almost entirely. As far as effectiveness is concerned, I strongly hold that governments should contribute to making sure that foods are healthy and safe. On the one hand, individuals can do many things to protect themselves from the harm of unsafe food. For instance, people can choose their food according to the shape, colour and smell of the food. In addition, people must have subjective awareness to eat all kinds of food include meat, vegetable and mushroom to balance their diet. For example, my neighbour Yu Qian is very fat who always failed to reduce weight because he cannot balance his diet. On another hand, it is undeniable that individuals can play a significant role in food health. However, the power from the government is also indispensable. Because the government has the legislative power, therefore, it can make some laws to prevent some harmful food be sold in the markets. For example, a recent survey revealed that the number of mutational seafood was increasing, which was affected by nuclear wastewater poured by Japan. All of the mutational seafood are eliminated, however, a number of seafood that seems normal also have been polluted. Citizens do not have the ability to tear the normal seafood and polluted one so that the government should take measures to exhibit selling polluted food. In conclusion, in my opinion, the most important thing is that governments should be well-advised to give priority to protecting citizens from polluted foods. Furthermore, individuals also need to pay more attention to choosing healthy and safe foods.