With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasing globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not as close as they used to be. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

Divorce rates are rising all over the world and membership between families tends to be diluted. I will show two possible reasons in this essay, and present solutions to them. First, these days, many people are more likely to choose living alone in a big city, because jobs in a rural area are decreasing and they go to an urban region for seeking their works. Therefore, the number of family members will become two, husband and wife, after their children being independent. This is the one reason for diluting of a family membership. Second, in modern society, the amount of works are increasing because of the development of technologies. However, the ability of individuals do not change easily, and it is difficult for ordinary people to deal with their jobs in the same time as before. Thus, people tend to select overtime work. This trend leads to less conversation within the family, and after all, many families might choose a divorce. In order to solve the former problem, the government and the municipal should make subsidies for local residents easiliy getting jobs in their hometown. On the other hand, the essential stakeholder for solving the second issue might be a private company. If each private sector encourages their employee to take a paid holiday for interacting with their family, communication between family members must be more frequent. In conclusion, there are two possible causes for rising divorce rates and diluting relationships within family members; choosing a nuclear family because of the lack of jobs in a rural area and less interaction due to overtime working. It is needed for both the government and the private sector to prevent these problems.