Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Most people work hard, day in and out to strive to be happy. Though the definition of happiness varies from person to person - as some get it from money some from love and affection - there is a some commonality among all of those who wish for a fulfilling and satisfactory life - which is peace within oneself. Firstly, money is believed to be the most essential tool to happiness by majority of the people living on planet earth because money can help in buying anything one wants. There is no need of suppressing the desire of owning something when the person in question is financially capable of purchasing anything in the world. This is the very reason why people these days are in the race of earning more than others hence being happier than others. But is this race of running behind money for happiness really worth it? I mean are the richest people in the world really happy with the power of possessing anything in the world? This is why this theory does not hold true in the case of those who find happiness in love and affection. No doubt money is important, but ultimately for humans the need of being part of a social group where one is loved and has someone to love is a prerequisite. But again, are the people with a huge family and a lot of friends to take care of them have the utmost happiness indeed? I believe it all sums up to two things - mental peace and strength. Because no matter how wealthy and loved a person is, he cannot be happy with his life if he is not at peace with himself. By being at peace with oneself I mean having satisfaction with what one already has. I however do not mean that a person should not have the desire of being more successful in life in order to lead a fulfilling life - dreams give purpose to life - what I mean is life can only be enjoyed to its fullest if there is no constant disruption caused due to the thoughts of achieving more and more in the future. Basically, people live in the future at the cost of their present. Another factor that I believe plays a crucial role in staying happy is the strength that a person mentally possesses. The reason why I believe it is crucial to remain strong mentally is the life of every individual in the world - rich or poor - is filled with ups and downs and maintaining sanity is the only way out of any difficult situation. It is clinically proven by many scientists that with the increase in development in most countries of the world, the number of people suffering from depression is increasing which in a way proves that wealth is definitely not one of the factors that give happiness. In conclusion, despite the fact that money and love are considered to be the driving force for happiness by many, mental peacefulness and a stable mindset are the most prominent elements for leading a satisfactory life.