Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-aged children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is known that nowadays kids spend too much time on playing computer games or beeing occupied with their mobile phones than twenty years ago. There are different opinions, which result in a discussion whether there should be more Physical Education classes instead of more academic subjects. On the one hand, youngsters spend a great deal of their spare time with playing digital games or by chatting in varoius social media. As a result, this leads to a sedentary lifestyle. The consequences are obesity with all further damage on the health of the population, which will result in immense costs for the health system. Furthermore, lot of scientists have concluded that the fact of practising exercises actually improves academic performance. Therefore, there is a need to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum. On the other hand, our society lacks of well-educated labour in the sectors of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. Moreover, the society is becoming more competitive. Not only good grades but also entrance to higher education is needed to find highly paid jobs afterwards. Thus, for most parents it seems to be important that educational bodies offer a wide range of academic subjects. Others even argue that it is up to parents to make sure their children participate enough in sport in their free time. In conclusion, it is undeniable that studying core subjects such as science, foreign languages and mathematics, for example, is essential for children to function in today's society. Nevertheless, in my point of view subjects where the children are beeing active must not be forgotten in the national curriculum in order to prevent health problems, which could damage our society in another way.