Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I feel that advertising is important in our daily lives because it provides us with information regarding the latest services, technology and medical advancement which we might have never came across before and nobody would want to remain in the dark for this very reason. For example an broadcast on a latest gadget with multiple functions such as the smart phone will not only help us get better quality pictures with its sophisticated graphics and camera but the applications inside such as zoom, whatssapp Whatsapp, botim etc helps us to connect to others across the globe for free via text messages, audio and video calls which we were not able to do in the past. They come with games which stimulate our mind during times of boredom and dating and social applications such as Badoo and tinder which helps us to connect with community nearby in the journey towards finding a friend or a potential mate. Several propaganda of a particular product can give us a wider option and choice in purchasing the item as well as enabling us to make comparisons between their quality and prices. Better are Those which include the review of others. Advertisements can be very tempting especially when they are accompanied by a contest that enables one to win something huge such as a car or a travel voucher. Some of the advertisements try to engage the nation into their membership programmes in order to enjoy discounts or accumulate points for achieving certain gifts or prizes. These are business tactics by the seller to buy the consumers attention and can lead to the purchasing of unnecessary goods, paying extra money into enrolling into their membership programmes and wastage of money. The worst part is when the endorsement comes as a scam or fraud and the crowd get cheated. They will post a contest and make us believe that we are a winner of a grand deal in which we will need to give very personal details of our bank account and information. Others will even ask us to deposit a certain amount of money before winning the price which later proves nothing of our effort but futile. In conclusion, I believe that broadcast comes in handy in our daily lives and we cannot ignore their importance. However so, the public needs to be more discerning and careful in choosing the goods before purchasing them so that they make good use of their money’s worth.