Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subject that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In this advanced world, there are still some nations struggling to find perfectionists in certain fields. This is affecting the development of a particular country, thereby it is suggested by some that local authorities should offer financial aid to fascinate more students towards such streams and to discourage them from other fields they should not provide any funding to others. Undoubtedly, if the government starts promoting students to be specialists by giving economical assistance, a large number of scholars will be encouraged to opt for professions such as CA, Doctor and Judges which the government are looking for. It will not only be beneficial for pupils but will develop the country as well since the students after passing out their university degree will contribute their efforts to the notion. Moreover, it will assist those too who are unable to fund their academics on their own but are intelligent enough to be a specialist. However, scholarship to a certain type of courses may trigger a cut-throat competition among learners towards a particular field only and it will be injustice with those pupils who are interested in other subjects like arts. There are some learners financially weak who are interested to complete their university degrees in known specialist courses, in this case, they will be discriminated against with the right to receive scholarships. In addition, a major drawback which has already been experienced night come in light that few pupils will drop out their studies in between the degrees or may not pay proper attention to their studies since they have not paid much for their education. In conclusion, in my opinion, the advantages of it outweigh the demerits as ultimately the goal of funding scholars is to seek the attention of learners towards courses that would be achieved by doing so.