Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Nowadays there is an educational issue which is in constant debate. The main function of a university has been widely discussed among people over the world. Some people argue that universities should teach everything to their students without taking into account what could be useful to them in the future. Others think, that they should provide useful knowledge, skills and tools for their workplace and prepare them to enter a competitive labour market. In my essay I would like to explain my point of view in detail. First of all, in today’s competitive world, it is crucial for young adults to be able to meet all the employment requirements, which is extremely difficult without in depth knowledge and experience. Another important thing to mention is, that there is no step in between university and work so essential knowledge to help with this transition should be taught before graduation. Employers are looking for people with relevant experience. If this experience could be obtained during their studies, both the students and the employers would benefit from it. On the other hand, others think, that it is also important to understand the theoretical background to certain things, so students can acquire theoretical knowledge during universities, which can be applicable later on in their workplace. Therefore, universities are crucial to provide essential knowledge to adapt to the work-life. In conclusion, the main function of a university is both knowledge and skill acquisition to help students secure their jobs quickly and enhance their ability to overcome challenges.