Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to secure a good job. Others believe that employers value work experience more than a university degree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

At some point in their lives, all people face the challenge of entering the labour market, hoping to find a great job. However, there is an ongoing debate about what future employers look for, academy literacy or hands-on experience. In my opinion, it all depends on the nature of the career one aspires to. Thinking about various occupations, it becomes clear that certain jobs require a university grade in a relevant subject from anyone who wants to enter that career path. This condition is clearly stated in the job adverts, and for such,jobs no amount of work background can replace higher education. Examples of such occupations are doctors and engineers. Furthermore, a nurse who has been working in a hospital for ten years will not become a doctor. This is because these professions require highly specialised knowledge that can only be gained through many years of higher education. However, not all professions are like that. On the other hand, in some industries, work experience seems more valuable than a degree. When I worked in a bank, some of our managers, who had only secondary discipline, were promoted to top positions because they knew how the department works inside out. Indeed, they clearly had an advantage over those with a master’s degree who had just joined the bank. From this example, it is obvious that some jobs require extensive knowledge of the business, and in such,cases employers will favour those with several years of knowledge over fresh university graduates. In conclusion, it seems there is no single path to getting a great career. While an academic grade is a prerequisite for some tasks, work background may be more important for others. Researching the typical requirements for desired positions will help one to make the right choice.