Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people get hold of the idea that instead of private sectors, governments should support research projects to guarantee their scientific quality and also supervise them to ensure they are aimed at the public best interest. I completely agree with this idea. Governmental institutes, which are financed by the taxpayer, have access to extensive human and technical resources that enable them to consider meticulous details in the process of scientific research, which in turn prevent biases. This is in contrast to private companies that own restricted financial resources, thus their projects may be more susceptible to mistakes. For instance, performing multicentre clinical studies, which are the most reliable type of medical studies, need an enormous budget so they can only be supported by grants from federal institutes such as NIH. If these institutes did not provide grants for such trials, private companies could not afford to run them, which in turn would reduce the medical science progress. From another perspective, nongovernmental institutes might prioritize their profit over ethical aspects of their research projects which may confound their discoveries. For instance, in Canada, once a pharmaceutical company was convicted for data fabrication, as it had manipulated the clinical results of a study on its produced medication. This example illustrates why authorities should supervise medical research and keep them in the public best interest. Nevertheless, it will be always possible for the companies to manipulate research projects ' results for their own purposes. In conclusion, I believe governments should be the main funder and supervisor of the scientific projects, so that they can prevent them from errors and keep them beneficial for all citizens.