In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

It is a popular trend that more and more employees take longer to work in some parts of the world. Many people have questioned the motives behind these issues, which exerts several impacts on staff. First of all, the root of working overtime is the pressure of work or employees ' deep desire for their job. For the former, accompanied by t he e conomic development, the workload increases. It requires staff h andle more tasks within s horter time. As a result, if they a re not finish their work on time, they will have no choice excepted s tay t he office. For the latter, the motive for devoting personal time to work is g reat passion for work. In fact, researchers spend almost all t ime day by day researching and experimenting. Not only do they make money, but also get the feeling of satisfaction, success, and fame. As a result, this trend leads to health problems, reduction of work efficiency when work time occupies too much. To be more specific, the more time to work, the little time to take care of themselves. Consequently, employees may face both mental and physical ailments like stress, pain back in the short term, or cancer in the long term. For example, s edentary lifestyle, which contributes to poor health quality and obesity, become popular in o fficer g roup. Besides, although the length of work time is longer than average, the efficiency is less because people’s attention span is limited. In short, spending too much time working has harmful effects on people. In conclusion, due to the requirement of jobs or the employees ’ desire, overtime working i s happen. However, employees should not let themselves in this situation because of the harm.