The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world .Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally . What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world ?

Tourism is becoming more and more popular and this has a large effect on the English language, if its fame continues to rise, some people believe that English would be the sole language in our world. This trend has both merits and demerits, language barrier and misunderstanding would disappear, however, some religions might become extinct and many people would be unemployed. On the one hand, when all people speak the same language, we would truly understand what everyone needs and what exactly they mean. At present, people are sometimes confused whenever they travel to other countries, after this change they are going to feel more comfortable and would not be scared to speak with others. For example, if they are lost and then ask local people, they would correctly know what route they should go. In addition, when they have to be in foreign courts, they could understand immediately what the judge said. On the other hand, if English is the only language that is spoken, religions and jobs that are involved with other languages will also disappear. Many religions are not written in English, and in order to pass the belief of those religions to the next generation, certain languages such as thai and India for Buddism, are required to do that. Moreover, people who are bilingual and make a living by being a translator would face trouble since this society does not need that type of profession anymore. For instance, they would be fired by their employers because companies do not need people who have proficiency in other languages anymore. In conclusion, this development could make people understand each other more, nevertheless, it also contains some negative impacts, such as the disappearance of several religions and occupations.