Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is always an argument related to subjects of study. A group’s opinion is that science of food and its preparation method is essential to be educated in school; while another group opines that there are more vital subjects which students should spend time on. I believe that having a knowledge of food science has the same value as studying critical subjects such as history, mathematics, physics. This essay will discuss both statements with relevant explanations along with my point of view. On the one hand, there are some fixed subjects that never get deleted from the education system, and some think that these are the only essential subjects to learn during school like biology, physics, mathematics. The reason for this is, the heads of the education system in the communities studied in the same education system, and they do not think that any changes in the system can be beneficial for society. As an instance, in Iran, there were 2 subjects, one was French language and another one was Meditation, added to the educating section of schools but after 2 years they realized that students should focus on their main subjects only, and they have removed them from the study courses. To clarify, they strongly agree that studying other subjects rather than the main ones is a waste of time and money. On the other hand, some people think that youngsters ought to study food science and the preparation method of food. This is because food is an essential factor in everybody’s life; hence, having proper knowledge related to its ingredients and preparation can definitely improve the health of an individual. For example, a survey done in Tehran university shows that students who study nutrition and its related field are much healthier compared to students in other fields. I completely agree that nowadays all people are encouraged to have fast foods; nonetheless, this subject makes them aware of how healthy food can improve their general health. In conclusion, although studying the main subjects is essential during education, subjects like food science can have lots of positive effects on the community.