Some people get into debt buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people having this problem?

A rising tide of consumerism has swept much of the world in the past century, and as it is easy to get a loan or a credit card, the public is finding themselves quickly sliding into deficit. There are many reasons for this issue, and some potential solutions to it. The main reason for the current abundance of the bill is that the public is living in a very materialistic world, where they are constantly exposed to advertising and even gloating on social media. They feel that they need to buy things because other populations have them or because society demands it. From iPhones to fancy cars, there is huge social pressure for the community to buy expensive goods. Even when they cannot afford it, banks advertise credit cards everywhere and companies offer payday loans with high-interest rates. It is very easy for the community to borrow this money, and they soon find that their attention piles up. There is no easy solution to the mortgage complication, but some important steps need to be taken in order to reduce the severity of the situation. Firstly, as always, education is important. High school students should be educated in school about financial matters and encouraged not to take out attention cards or loans unless necessary. Governments should also set rules about interest rates and loan advertisements in order to make payments more reasonable. There should also be limits on how easily they can give loans to the crowd, so that community cannot borrow more than they could ever pay back. In conclusion, indebtedness is a huge dilemma in society partly because it is so easy to get into a mortgage. Schools and governments can take some steps to help solve this trouble.