In many places, shopping is the leisure time activity for young adults. Why is it so? Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

In many countries, young generations consider shopping as an entertaining activity because other areas to get entertained are scarce. However, I believe this is a negative issue as it puts them under financial pressure. The time they consume for that prevents them from going to sports facilities and libraries. One of the reasons teenagers enjoy being in the shopping centres to buy merchandise is that it gives them the opportunity to hang out with their friends. There are only a few youth clubs with affordable entrance fees while gathering in the malls is free. Moreover, the shopping centres usually have numerous attractive accommodations, such as cinemas, which are not available in other parts of the city. As a result, when teenagers go shopping in these places, they can also watch movies, which increases the pleasure of doing so. However, in my opinion, when young generations shop for leisure, they may waste their money, which is necessary to be saved for their future, making them susceptible to economic difficulties. In addition, the amount of time that these individuals spend on shopping should be invested in more productive activities such as doing exercise which improves their health or studying in libraries which broadens their horizons. For example, Bill Gates, who successfully created Microsoft, mentions in his biography that he never spent time purchasing any cloth for himself and dressed with his friends' used ones to save time for his projects that ended in his success. This example shows the importance of spending time on more beneficial activities than purchasing goods. In conclusion, young adults consider shopping a joyful activity because it enables them to gather with their same-age group and other entertainment facilities are scarce. This is, however, a negative phenomenon as it prevents them from saving money and engaging in more beneficial activities.