Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses. Others believe that the local council should allow people to choose different designs for their houses. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there are many new styles of houses, some people state that people should not change the designs of their accommodations, while this essay will investigate both views and believes that the government should allow citizens to choose their own designs for their houses. On the one hand, there are two reasons why houses should keep in the same style. The main reason is that it is easier to build traditional style of residence. As people have built the same kind of housing for a long period of time, they are familiar with the process and they can build them quicker. Another reason is that traditional style of buildings is unique. Every country has their own traditional housings and they are the culture of their countries. For instance, there are fewer and fewer walled village in HK, so people should keep the traditional design of their houses to preserve culture. On the other hand, there are two reasons why people should be allowed to choose the design for their flats. Firstly, new designs can provide a better living environment to citizens. Modern flats are more convenient for living as the facilities are more user-friendly. The furniture is also more fashion and resident can have a better living quality. Moreover, new designs can provide more living places to citizens. Most traditional buildings only have one to two floors, not many people are able to live in that place. In contrast, most new buildings are very tall and can accommodate many residents. Therefore, it can provide more flats for people to live in. To conclude, although building homes with traditional style can conserve traditional culture, the local council should allow people to choose different designs for their house as it is beneficial to both society and individuals.