Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the increasing amount of processed food usage with extreme sugar contents is one of the main reasons for uprising health issues such as obesity, diabetes, and heart problems. A rise in the price of these foods and beverages is seen as an effective precaution. This essay agrees that changing prices can discourage individuals from eating or drinking more carbohydrates. This essay will first suggest that rising prices lead to declining demands and then argue that it creates an incentive to switch to healthy options. Since increasing sugar-based food prices directly affects the accessibility by less wealthy parts of societies, the health problems related to sugar consumption can decline automatically. Although some of the carbohydrates are essential in most diets, junk foods contain a massive amount of carbs; hence, they are the real reason for climbing health issues. Therefore, declining the usage of these should be the highest priority. For example, the vast majority of humans have been consuming bread for centuries; however, the health issues related to excessive carbohydrate usage is a contemporary issue. Another positive effect of this policy is supporting the mentality and behaviour change against harmful products. As people believe that preparing a meal requires excessive time and is not as tasty as manufactured goods; they do not even try. Moreover, as being exposed to a high amount of carbohydrates for a long time creates an addiction, quitting it can require an external force. Due to relatively decreased income to spend on these meals, individuals can find the necessary motivation to discover healthy, easy, and delicious options. For instance, in 2010, a tax law on cigarettes was brought into force in Europe, then research conducted by a German University showed that the number of smokers fell sharply on short notice, and they found new resources to control their stress levels. In conclusion, high sugar consumption affects both young and old. Making sugary products more expensive is mandatory for all governments which want to create healthy nations. Therefore, I agree that the high prices can be used as a tool to give the courage to establish healthy habits. Turning unhealthy foods into luxury items can be beneficial to communities' own well-being.