Many people think that some individuals are naturally good leaders. Other think that people can learn leadership skills. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are distinct views on being a good leader. Whereas some people claim that individuals are born with this characteristic, others object to that view and argue that leadership, as well as other skills, can be learned during life. I tend to agree with the second view, as from my point of view, not only people can learn whatever they want to, but also nowadays there is a plethora of courses, books, and training about leadership skills. On the one hand, some individuals argue that a good leader is a talent some people were born with. They support this idea because, in the past, the number of resources for example books, courses or talks related to leadership skills was much fewer than nowadays. Consequently, learning or training essential characteristics of leadership such as public speaking, how to motivate others, self-control and so on before receiving the position of manager was difficult and only individuals who already had a predisposition of this behaviour were considered good leaders. On the other hand, other people believe that leadership skills are not in a person’s DNA and can be learned through experience, education, and training. Since experience and education prepare individuals to deal with success or even failure. This kind of training became famous because of the great results some people have achieved after doing it. For instance, recently the company I am working for paid to the managers and coordinators leadership training and in this course, they have learned communication and creativity skills. Thus, I could observe that my direct boss significantly improved his skill. To sum up, although some individuals were born with certain characteristics fundamental of leadership such as communication, I personally believe that through training everyone can be a good leader.