As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time To what extent do you agree

In recent years technology has become an integral part of our daily lives, including the way we communicate, therefore, many are arguing that with the presence of fast precise computer translators, learning new languages is not necessary anymore. In this, essay I will be discussing why I completely disagree with this notion. To begin with, individuals who support the aforementioned notion base their argument on the fact that computers provide us with instant,and more accurate translation which is far way more convenient than learning a new language. However, there are plenty of issues that are associated with computer translation, firstly, computers are not programmed to understand regional variations of languages. Moreover, if the internet crashes people will need language skills to communicate, Also the internet is not accessible in some places in the world. Furthermore, learning a new language will help us understand the cultural background of a country and break boundaries. And also, acquiring a new language improves our critical thinking and boosts our intelligence. A recent study that was conducted in the UK has shown that people who are multilingual are more flexible and creative than others who speak only one language, also they will have better job opportunities than others. Another fact is that a computer is a machine that only can convert words from one language to another but without emotions. In conclusion. computer is beneficial in several fields such as medical, engineering, calculations, But in the case of language translation. I think a person should learn a foreign language because it is very beneficial for his/her career.