‘All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

With the world in such globalized era, learning second language is becoming almost essential for most people especially for offspring. Some people claiming that it should be started promptly when they start school. I agree with this statement due to the following reasons. First of all, when children start to study new things, their minds fresh and can catch more information compared with adults. Studies indicate that the child’s brain in early years have at least one million new neural connections, which are made every second, more than at any other time in life. Experts also emphasize that learning the language before the age of ten years allow children to speak correct, and fluent as an indigenous person. Furthermore, children do not have any fears that make mistakes when they are speaking in a new language, and looking foolish in front of others. This is one of the biggest barriers for a person to speak freely. Also, children have a better chance to get rid of an accent. They faster get used to the right pronunciation and better feel the melody of a language. Finally, learning a new language can broaden children ’s horizon because of enhancing their social skills. This means that it offers surprising benefits like improved ability to communicate, better cognitive development, and richer cultural awareness. I do appreciate that some people think differently, saying that the early-aged children should focus on learning their mother tongue language properly instead of new language. However, learning foreign language can help to improve other skills. In summary, I believe that children should learn second language as soon as possible because their brains are more ready to understand new information, besides having a multi- language is more advantageous.