Human activities have a negative effect on plant and animal species. Some people think that it is too late to do anything. Some people think that we should take effective action to improve the situation. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Modern industrial plants which manufacture steel, cement, chemicals etc, require a lot of land and water and also discharge a lot of pollutants. This has caused the destruction of flora and fauna over large tracts of land. Many people are concerned that irretrievable damage has been caused to the environment, and this will ultimately destroy the human species. However, many environmentalists are fighting back and trying their best to improve the situation. Indeed, the need of the hour is effective action and not to keep worrying about the circumstances. Humans have been modifying the environment since the beginning. we started by clearing forests for agriculture. Then, the exploitation was magnified during the industrial age. For e.g, millions of whales were killed for 'whale oil', to light the streets and trees felled down to build towns and highways. Despite protests by villagers and environmentalists, the businessmen used money and muscle power to exploit the natural resources. Hence, in many cases, the damage was permanent. The most prominent example of this is the permanent loss of coral reefs worldwide. However, several environmental organizations like the Chipko Andolan, Greenpeace and individuals like Greta Thunberg have fought back. They have rightly held the view that we must try to preserve whatever we have. They are organizing mass protests and publicity campaigns, to highlight the damage being done to the environment and also legally fight the exploiters. This has led to positive developments like the ban on whaling, mass forestry programs and improved pollution control norms. To summarize, the negative effect of humans on both animals and vegetation is apparent. Along with the Dodo, many harmless animals and plants perished. This wanton destruction had led many to believe that the damage is beyond repair. But, thanks to the efforts of intrepid environmentalists, there is still hope, and in my opinion, this is the correct approach. We must fight with all our resources to save our precious flora and fauna.