There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

In recent years, many public locations in urban areas have suffered from noise pollution which is produced mainly by the cars and people who speak loudly in these places. This issue, however, can be tackled if governments limit the number of cars that are permitted to enter these streets and educate citizens to speak with a low voice there. One of the main sources of noise pollution in crowded urban areas is the sound of car engines which are used by citizens to commute. This problem particularly exacerbates in congested streets where numerous automobiles are jammed. For example, in Toronto, where I live, noise pollution is the worst in the busy downtown where there are traffic jams all day. In addition, people who talk loudly in crowded public areas with one another or through their mobile phones contribute to worsening the noise problem. In downtown Toronto, it is not odd to see men who are shouting while talking to their phones. The noise problem, however, can be solved by legislation and training. The first step to reducing the disturbing noise in open areas is to raise awareness about it. Governments can educate people about the side-effects of loud noise on the body so that citizens lower the levels of their voice especially when they are in public locations. For instance, there are a few advertisements in the Toronto subway station which illustrate how talking loudly in trains can hurt other passengers. Moreover, Authorities in the cities can pass laws to inhibit private cars to enter crowded areas to decrease the number of them and mandate individuals to use public transportation, thus controlling the amount of noise produced by vehicles. In conclusion, vehicles and people's voices play a significant role in making noise pollution in public places. Governments, however, can tackle this issue by educating their citizens and limiting the number of cars in these areas.