Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays people often discuss whether learning a foreign language is only aimed at working or studying abroad. Both views have their own explanations, but in my opinion, there are various reasons to study a foreign language. On the one hand, it is true that most people learn English as a second language in order to study or work abroad. For instance, students taking English lessons to prepare for language tests as the premise to go to college in another country. In many international corporations, employees may have to travel internationally to attend conferences or events, they need to fluently communicate with people from other parts of the world, so learning new languages are essential for them. However, many individuals are not intended to make trips to another country; so they may not motivated to learn different languages. On the other hand, despite of the fact that some people learn a foreign language only because they have needs to travel to foreign country. Learning new language could benefits us in other ways. First, language represents a certain culture and history, we could learn traditions and norms by learning that language. Second, bilingual or even trilingual are more competitive than speak only one language in today’s y job market. For example, a person who can speak both Cantonese and English seeking for bank custom service job in Canada are more likely to be recruited, because she or he could serve varies groups of customers. Third, with knowing a foreign langue, we can better make friends internationally and travel to anywhere without language barrier,which greatly facilitates our life. To sum up, learning foreign language could benefit us in different ways. We should realized the importance of learning new language is not only aim at traveling abroad, but also enrich our knowledge and expand our social cycle.