Cultural tourism, in which people travel in order to visit museums, monuments and archaeological sites among other things, is a growing industry. Having so many visitors may sometimes benefit a nation's cultural heritage, but it can also cause problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Several countries with rich history and culture like Jordan, India, France, Spain, Turkey etc. are promoting themselves as tourist destinations and airline countries are promoting travel with cheap fares. Also, the internet has fueled people's interest in other cultures. Hence, cultural tourism has become very popular nowadays. I believe that this is a very welcome phenomenon. I will elaborate on this fact in the following paragraphs with adequate examples. Firstly, cultural tourism promotes fraternity. People across countries come together and create permanent bonds of friendship. For example, many Europeans come to India, and fall in love with Bollywood and Yoga. All these people have become our unofficial ambassadors and are spreading goodwill about us Indians. Secondly, when people see the marvellous achievements of ancient cultures, then they develop respect for that culture. For instance, when people from the advanced economies see the towering Pyramids of Giza, they develop respect for the culturally rich but economically poor Egyptians. Lastly, cultural tourism provides means of sustenance for many tour operators, guides, porters and hotel owners, who depend on these tourists. However, despite the numerous advantages of cultural tourism, there are few serious concerns. The primary concern is damage to the site itself. The rich paintings of Ajanta and Ellora caves, for instance, have suffered due to the flashlights of the cameras used by the tourists. Tourists have defaced and defiled monuments like the Taj Mahal, at Agra. Also, these tourists come only during certain peak seasons, putting the local infrastructure like roads and water supply under severe strain. In a nutshell, cultural tourism has promoted fraternity, mutual respect for cultures and the economy but has also caused damage to the host environment. In my opinion, this form of tourism is a good thing but needs to be regulated.