Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As humans, we have the choice to continue with our usual chores or try new adventures. I think that this choice should be left to the individual, although, I am more on the adventurous side and would like to try out newer things. In the following paragraphs, I will examine the relative benefits and lacunae of both the approaches. At first, let us examine the view that change is vital. Lord Buddha had said that change is the only permanent thing in the universe. Indeed, all the progress which we have witnessed is because of adventurers desiring change. For example, because of navigators like Captain Cook, Magellan and Columbus, newer worlds were discovered. Other examples are the political revolutions, like the French revolution, which replaced monarchy with democracy. Indeed, the world is a better place due to these changes. Although trying out new things is important, it is also important to remain grounded and contended. We all know the story of the grasshopper and the ant. Trying out fancy, new things at the cost of our responsibilities is erroneous. For example, we know of many businesses which failed because they avoided tried-and-tested approaches for success. Also, if one tries to learn and do many things, then the knowledge gained is superficial. Thus, in a nutshell, there has to be a balance between remaining steady and seeking new frontiers. I believe, that the best way forward would be to consolidate the present situation and then seek the unknown. This means that we should listen to the wisdom of elders before seeking new adventures.