The United Nations recently celebrated its 70th anniversary. What benefits has it brought during this time? Do you think the UN will last another 70 years?

The United Nations, or the UN, was created after World War II, to maintain peace and tranquillity between nations. It has several sister organizations like the World Health Organization. The highest deciding body of the UN is the Security Council with 5 permanent members-USA, Russia, China, France and the United Kingdom. For the past 70 years, the UN has maintained peace in the world and in my opinion, it will last as long as humanity lasts, and not just for another 70 years. The primary responsibility of the UN is maintaining peace and it has done this very well. The world has avoided a nuclear catastrophe thanks to the UN. During the years of the Cold War, the USA and the Soviet Union could resolve all contentious issues at the Security Council, and thus avoid military build-up. Also, many countries in Africa, the middle-east, parts of Asia and Latin America have faced civil wars, and the UN has had to send peacekeeping forces there to save the lives of the people. For example, many lives in Uganda were saved by the Indian peacekeeping forces. In addition to the above roles, the UN also works through its sister organizations like WHO and UNESCO, to provide access to health and education to many impoverished people across the world. For example, poor kids suffering from malnutrition in Sudan, Namibia and many other famine-stricken countries were rescued by volunteers of WHO. Another example is the tribal children living in remote jungles getting education from UNESCO volunteers. In a nutshell, the UN has played an exemplary role in maintaining peace and prosperity throughout. There is a need to modernize the UN, for example, adding India as a permanent member of the Security Council and increasing the voting rights of developing countries. In the next 70 years, I foresee the UN administering and maintaining peace in space too.