One problem face by almost every larger city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

It is undeniable that traffic jam remains a serious problem especially in nations that show a high population. I think that this issue has several certain causes and there are several effective approaches that should be taken in order to address this issue. On the one hand, the major cause of this phenomenon is the growing economy that happens in the world in recent years, which led to an increase in the number of vehicles on the road. In other words, the wealth of many nations has increased and then the financial situation of their citizens become more convenient to purchase their own cars and then the number of drivers on the road becomes more significant. Moreover, the lack of space remains an important reason for the congested roads especially in developing countries which have shown growth of population and then multiples of the building are built and engender a problem of insufficient space for driving. On the other hand, there are several effective approaches that can address this issue and help to solve it. Firstly, the government should improve and develop public transportation in order to make them convenient for citizens and then encourage them to use it,especially for a short distance. Secondly, the authority should encourage the population to use bicycles as an economic and ecological way of transport and can reduce the level of traffic jams. Finally, the authority should force the drivers to pay a strong penalty for those who wish to drive every day, this tax can be used to improve transport infrastructure and develop public transportation. In conclusion, I believe that mainly lack of space and economic growth causes traffic jams. However, this problem can be solved by taking special measures such as encouraging the use of public transport and bicycle and also establishing penalties for drivers.